Integrate Superhuman Docs and Slack to unlock easier doc sharing, notifications, and other features within your Slack.
The Superhuman Docs app for Slack (formerly known as Coda Bot for Slack) enables seamless integration by connecting your Superhuman Docs account to Slack. This connection enables easier sharing, provides more context and details when you paste Docs links in Slack, and gives the option to have notifications from Docs automatically shared with you in Slack. It also allows you to add a row to a Docs table directly from Slack. Continue reading to learn how to set up and use Superhuman Docs for Slack.
📣 Ready to get started quickly? Click here to add Superhuman Docs for Slack.
What is Superhuman Docs for Slack?
The Superhuman Docs for Slack app is an integration that allows you to tie your work from Superhuman Docs into Slack, where you and your team communicate. Once the app is set up via your Superhuman Docs account settings, you unlock the following features:
Improved previews for Superhuman Docs links shared in Slack. Whether you share a link to a doc, a page, or a row, everyone in the discussion will see dynamic previews that provide context on the content being shared, with links to go directly to the referenced content.
Easier sharing. We’ve all done it ー you Slack someone a link, and they don’t have permission to view it. Now, when you share a Docs link in a DM or Channel, you’ll be notified if your Slack audience doesn’t have access to the doc, with options to share with conversation members or your entire team right from Slack! (You can also skip this and retain the doc sharing settings.)
Add rows to Docs. Use the message shortcut to add a row to any Docs table straight from Slack. Capture a bug report, log feedback on a new feature, or create a task without breaking your flow.
Slack directory integration. Members of your Slack workspace are easily searchable when @-mentioning people, adding them to a “people” column in a table, or sharing a doc with them.
Get notified in Slack. When you @-mention someone in a comment or a doc, Superhuman Docs for Slack will alert the @-mentioned user(s) so they can quickly find their mention and respond or take action. Added bonus: the app aggregates these for each user in Slack, so you don’t have to search through all of the comments in a doc to find where you’re mentioned!
ℹ️ Superhuman Docs for Slack is distinct from Superhuman Docs' Slack Pack, which allows you to pull information from Slack into your docs and tables. Learn more about the Slack Pack here.
Set up Superhuman Docs for Slack
The Superhuman Docs for Slack app is set up on an individual account level. This means that you can set it up for your Docs and Slack account, without impacting the accounts of any of your teammates.
To add Superhuman Docs for Slack, follow these steps:
Navigate to docs.superhuman.com/account.
Scroll down to the Sharing, contact, and notification integrations section (or select Contact accounts from the sidebar).
Find Slack, and click Connect.
Follow the prompts to sign into your Slack account and authorize.
That’s all - you will now start seeing the features of the app in your Slack account. If you wish to disconnect this integration in the future, you can return to this screen and select Disconnect.
ℹ️ If you’re the first person in your Slack organization to set up this integration, Superhuman Docs for Slack will message team members in your Slack workspace who also have Docs accounts with a link to add this integration as well. This helps them get the same benefits in Slack. Everyone can manage their individual settings and preferences from docs.superhuman.com/account.
Add rows from Slack
With the Add to Docs message shortcut in Slack, you can quickly add a row to a Superhuman Docs table directly from a Slack message. Once you've added the Superhuman Docs app to your Slack, follow these steps:
- In Slack, hover over the message, and select the vertical three-dot option from the menu bar.
- Hover over Connect to apps. If you've already used this shortcut, you should see Add to Docs already listed. If you haven't, select More message shortcuts, then search for and select Add to Docs (by Superhuman Docs).
- Start by choosing the table where the new row will be added. You can either paste a direct link to the table or search by name. Note: At this time, you can only select base tables - you cannot select a connected view.
- Then choose the column where the Slack message will be included - either a canvas column or a URL column. If neither column type exists in the table, then you will see a button to create one.
- Next, you'll see the other columns from the Docs table. You can fill in values for as many columns as you'd like, but most are optional.
- Finally, you can check the box to share with the channel. When this is selected, an automated confirmation message will be sent to the Slack channel to inform members that a new row has been added to the Docs table.
- Note: The Superhuman Docs app will need to be specifically added to the Slack channel before it can post confirmation messages in the channel. See note below for details.
- Click Add to finalize.
You should now see the row added to your table in Superhuman Docs.
Sending confirmation messages to channel members:
By default, you will receive private Slack messages from the Superhuman Docs app once a row has been successfully added to Docs. If you would also like for these confirmation messages to be sent within the Slack channel for broader visibility, you will need to first add the Superhuman Docs app to that particular channel. To do so, follow these steps:
- Within Slack, open the channel details (while within the channel, click on the channel name at the top of the page)
- Select the Agents & apps tab
- Click Add agents and apps
- Search for Superhuman Docs, and click Add
Manage notifications
If you have opted to receive email notifications for comments and mentions in Superhuman Docs, you may receive duplicative notifications via Superhuman Docs for Slack.
You can manage your email preferences in your account settings by following the steps here.
You can also control whether you receive notifications for all comments, or just for mentions and subscribed comments in an individual doc by clicking on the gear icon in the upper right, then selecting Notifications. Learn more about these settings here.
FAQs
Does adding Superhuman Docs for Slack add it for everyone in my Docs workspace?
No, Superhuman Docs for Slack is an individual feature that each user can choose to add or not add. When someone in your Slack workspace first adds Superhuman Docs for Slack, any other Slack members who also have Superhuman Docs accounts will receive a message from the app with a link to connect the integration (should they wish to do so).
How can I learn more about the permissions and security of Superhuman Docs for Slack?
As with any third-party integration, Superhuman Docs and Slack need to exchange some information to power the app. Thankfully, the team at Slack introduced granular permissions, which ensures we only request the information required for the app to send you notifications, let you search your Slack directory for sharing, etc.
You can learn more about Superhuman Docs's profile in the Slack App Directory.
What’s the difference between Superhuman Docs for Slack and the Slack Pack?
Superhuman Docs for Slack is an integration that you add to Slack. It allows for easier sharing of doc links within Slack, as well as sending you notifications from Docs directly in Slack.
The Slack Pack, on the other hand, is an integration that allows users to pull information from Slack into their Superhuman docs. Users can sync in tables of Slack channels or users, send Slack messages from Docs with the click of a button, and more.
When I send a doc link in a Slack message, does everyone see the doc preview, even if they have not installed Superhuman Docs for Slack?
In most cases, everyone in Slack will see the doc preview - even if they haven’t installed Superhuman Docs for Slack themselves. There are some cases where the app may show you a prompt that only you can see, but those prompts will say “only visible to you.”